The Complete Humphrey Jennings Collection Volume Two: Fires Were Started

Second volume of films by one of Britain’s greatest documentary filmmakers, a lyrical portrait of the nation at war.

Widely considered to be one of Britain’s greatest filmmakers, Humphrey Jennings has long been celebrated as the director of works which beautifully capture everyday heroism in times of war and peace. This, the second of three volumes which collect together Jennings’s entire output, gathers five films from 1941-1943 and shows Jennings at the peak of his tragically short but outstanding career.

From the rousing call to arms of The Heart of Britain and Words for Battle, the poetic evocation of daily life in Listen to Britain, and the powerfully resonating drama of Fires Were Started and The Silent Village, the films included in the set offer a lyrical portrait of the nation at war and a moving celebration of Britishness.

The films

  • The Heart of Britain (1941)
  • Words for Battle (1941)
  • Listen to Britain (1941)
  • Fires Were Started (1943)
  • The Silent Village (1943)

Product information

    • Certificate


    • Colour


    • Sound


    • Running time


    • Languages


    • Subtitles

      English (optional)

    • Original aspect ratio


    • DVD region

      • 2 Europe (except Russia, Ukraine, and Belarus), Middle East, Egypt, Japan, South Africa, Swaziland, Lesotho, Greenland, French Overseas departments and territories

    • Blu-ray region

      • B - Includes most European and Middle-Eastern countries, all of Africa, Australia and New Zealand

    • Catalogue number


BFI Shop

DVDs and Blu Ray

Back to the top

See something different

Subscribe now for exclusive offers and the best of cinema.