The Complete Humphrey Jennings Collection Volume Three: A Diary for Timothy

Humphrey Jennings’s transition from wartime to peacetime filmmaking.

Widely celebrated as one of Britain’s greatest filmmakers, Humphrey Jennings is a true poet of the cinema, and his work was the inspiration for Danny Boyle’s Olympic Games Opening Ceremony. This, the last of three comprehensive volumes which bring together his entire directorial output, features the films he made between 1944 and 1951, and charts his transition from wartime to peacetime filmmaking.

Featuring A Diary for Timothy, Jennings’s much-loved collaboration with EM Forster, The Dim Little Island, a muted but affecting celebration of Britishness, and Family Portrait, the esoteric Festival of Britain film, this essential collection confirms Jennings as a master of the cinematic art.

This compilation includes:

  • The True Story of Lili Marlene (1944)
  • The Eighty Days (1944)
  • Myra Hess (1945)
  • A Diary for Timothy (1945)
  • A Defeated People (1946)
  • The Cumberland Story (1947)
  • The Dim Little Island (1949)
  • Family Portrait (1950)

Special features

  • V.1 (1944): a shorter cut of The Eighty Days, made for overseas distribution.
  • The Good Life (1951): The film Jennings was working on at his death.

Product information

    • Certificate


    • Colour


    • Sound


    • Running time


    • Original aspect ratio


    • DVD region

      • 2 Europe (except Russia, Ukraine, and Belarus), Middle East, Egypt, Japan, South Africa, Swaziland, Lesotho, Greenland, French Overseas departments and territories

    • Blu-ray region

      • B - Includes most European and Middle-Eastern countries, all of Africa, Australia and New Zealand

    • Catalogue number


BFI Shop

DVDs and Blu Ray

Back to the top

See something different

Subscribe now for exclusive offers and the best of cinema.