It's a Big Country (1950)

Film details


Seven different tales with the theme of universal love, friendship and peace as exemplified by the different races that make up America.

1. Episode One (aka Interruptions, interruptions) 2. Episode Two (aka The census taker/The lady and the census taker) 3. Episode Three (aka The Negro story) 4. Episode Four (aka Rosika the Rose) 5. Episode Five (aka Letter from a soldier/Letter from Korea) 6. Episode Six (aka Minister in Washington) 7. Episode Seven (aka Four Eyes)

two other episodes shot 8. Episode Eight (aka Texas/Lone Star) 9. Episode Nine (aka Load)

the first of these seems to have been shown on some US playdates (but certainly not in UK), but number nine has never been released.

Cast & Credits

Latest from the BFI

  • Latest from the BFI

    Latest news, features and opinion.

More information

Films, TV and people

  • Films, TV and people

    Film lists and highlights from BFI Player.

More information

Sight & Sound magazine

  • Sight & Sound magazine

    Reviews, interviews and features from the international film magazine.

More information

Back to the top